Fable 4 Must Have In Order To Not Fail List

We really like lists here apparently… The Fable series has suffered in recent years from major flaws and shortcomings on its design. These are a few bare necessities as well as some friendly suggestions that would help get Fable back on the proverbial rails.
List:
          1) True coop with consistently retained experience, loot, and quest progress.  It’s a little ridiculous that somebody has to say this in 2012.  
          2) Better loot.  I understand that they sought to broaden their horizons for non-rpg familiar players, but by destroying the inventory system, Lionhead removed the joy of loot on the whole.  Nobody cared what was in that chest anymore, so why explore that cave that it’s in?  Where are the rewards for doing anything in the game, especially outside the main narrative?  There are none! And in turn doing any quest or sidequest feels arbitrary.  The pointlessness of video games in general becomes painfully apparent when you play one that makes you say, “What was that for?”  And when you finally did find something that altered appearance there were only a handful that played a role in stat boosting… This is the defining characteristic that identified Fable 3 as NOT an rpg.  Seriously, outfits are just “ok”.  Functional appearance changes are far more enjoyable, and here’s the catch…they’re functional.  There’s more purpose to it than just “look at me!  I’m a chicken!”. It’s “I’m a chicken, therefore I can fly!” its not just “I have a cool looking sword.”  its “I have a cool looking sword because I felled a rare beastie and made his jawbone into my hilt, and yes it does cause damage to enemies when I block now!” See how that’s infinitely superior to the chicken suit formula?  The hero of Albion has been reduced to a stage actor with what are essentially costume changes, in absolute contrast to the epic story that is trying to emerge.  The tools to support an epic backdrop and plot are available, but are completely unused.  Not only that, but an end game element that almost single handed drives up replay value is loot hunting, and i mean epic stat AND appearance loot hunting.  There are games built almost entirely on this principle and MANY people enjoy them!  If the developers wanted to streamline the experience there is an easy two step fix for this: 1)Create in game option to turn off loot changing appearance (similar to turning off helmet appearance in MMO’s) and replace it with the “select this appearance from a list” option, and 2)employ an auto equip feature to equip loot that gives the best stats from your inventory.  This allows non-rpg players to have their stats boosted automatically without changing their appearance and without their needing to get lost in a menu system, while retaining the basic elements that are essential to a loot based rpg.  Wait… Did I just make Fable mainstream without making it….suck?  FIX YOUR LOOT SYSTEM LIONHEAD! 
          3) VASTLY varied enemies.  How many games are we going to fight hobbes, trolls, hollow men, wolves, people, and balverines almost exclusively…. sure they threw in some weird shadow thingies and a sword person….guy… But you fight them like twice.  Familiar enemies are fine, but expand!  Advance!  And this is one area where advancement is not an option; if this doesnt change, things will get old, again, fast.  Which brings us to our next list…

FABLE 4 MUST HAVE IN ORDER TO ADVANCE LIST
These aren’t necessarily broken elements of the game, but much needed updates from prior formats.
List:
          A) Skill trees.  Deeper and more varied please.  Oooh ooh, and maybe even different classes or specializations?! Look, We LIKE having things to upgrade!  That’s why people play RPGs.  If you want to mainstream it, then create a system similar to the one mentioned above, where noobs and FPS addicts will spend money on your game without having to think too hard.  But don’t strip Fable of its rpg!  
B) Better pets. I am not the first to mention this one. I love dogs. There is scarce a more faithful companion. But this is a FANTASY game… Dogs are the least creative option you could possibly come up with, on game #3. My niece is 3 and obsessed with “ruff ruff’s” and even she would be sick of your pet system by now. Don’t get rid of the dog, but ADVANCE.
C) World management: don’t just let me buy buildings and make money from it, let me upgrade store inventory, build new buildings, unlock new quests from the people that are drawn to my new towns and structures, and have at least mild battle related elements like building up soldiers and defenses, and assigning them tactical positioning and varied troop abilities for a battlefield setting in order to protect the city from invaders. It’s not a sim, but there have always been some world management elements in Fable, and it makes sense that on #4 it’s time to give us more than the last 3. This one is borderline enough that many readers will think, “Ok that’s a little much”, but I stand by my principle, that these elements have always been present in Fable, and it’s time to finally develop them further.

FABLE 4 MUST HAVE IN ORDER TO MEET MY IMPOSSIBLE STANDARD FOR GAME GREATNESS
Ok so this list isnt really essential, but it is fun!  I realize I expect too much of a video game, and I’ll totally admit that.  In fact I’ll even go a little farther and be happy to identify the difference between the things that are absolutely necessary to save the failing Fable franchise, and those things which are, well, a little over the top, or even ridiculous.  Here we go!
List:
          -More players.  The more the merrier, just boost the enemy stats and damage, BY ALOT so it’s challenging!
          -PvP duels. Look it doesn’t have to be big, I just want to beat up my friends ok?!  
          -Mounts. Horses are NOT too ar fetched for this game, so that’s a start, but seriously, how cool would it be to ride through Albion on like a troll, or a… Some other kind of new species in Albion (as I have previously mentioned the need for, *cough*).  Of course this would be pointless unless the map were more open world and not fractured like all of Fable 4’s predecessors.  A big change for the game which is unlikely.
-Multiplayer skill braiding. Weird choice of term for something I’m sure other games have done and given less foreign labels. Battle and story in Fable are actually fun. No they’re not perfect, but they are the highlights of a broken game formula. But battle could definitely use a boost. Using a spell has 2 possible outcomes and maybe 3 with the latest Fable installment. You can rapid fire, charge for AOE and bind 2 spells together for added effects. But what if mixing players spells resulted in added effects or spells?! That way it would keep the 2 button battle system but add more variety and strategy with a touch of strategic timing for multiplayer!…ehhhhh? Riiiiight??

THE END OF FABLE
Actually, most of those things aren’t that far fetched! But they are simply suggestions on how to further the Fable series in terms of gameplay. The other stuff is important!! Ultimately, Fable is a mainstream idea, with lots of “cutesy” adaptations, but as Lionhead allows Fable to wander further and further away from its roots and has yet to infuse it with any form of ingenuity (other than arcade and kinect adaptations which are great but not really proper fable titles), unless Fable 4 has some impressive redeeming qualities, we may already have seen the twilight hours of a franchise with much lost potential. Think about it, and as always…

Love,

RPG Gear:

Fable Gear:

Posted using Tinydesk Writer iPhone app

Published by BlipFling

Flinging the Blips

9 thoughts on “Fable 4 Must Have In Order To Not Fail List

  1. Well… The only thing I can say is you are just taking fable and making it a completely different rpg. Sure, some customing could be great (at least something similar to fable 1 where the clothes you wore gave you armor or magic resistance), or maybe a bigger upgrade system for the weapons… I thik pvp would suck the way fable is played, as a big weapons wielder would have no chances against a light one because of staggering, but I could accept it…
    But classes? that’s the full opposite of fable! you are a hero, you are supposed to be able to be the better one in everything! Loot would be hard without having a full inventory system, as the only valuables you carry are quest items and weapons, and having a full combat inventory system would make it a much more “serious”game, which is the opposite of the spirit of fable.
    If you want skill trees, pvp, loot, mounts, enemy variety and such, go play wow, it’s your game. But accept Fable is just a different game, not better or worst, plainly different, and it is good to have variety. You play for the history, not for being the best one or having the best gear… Simply for fun. And I love that.

    1. I totally understand your argument! I think what I am saying is that I believe there is a way to preserve the “quick-fun” element of Fable without completely removing the deeper gameplay elements, (which actually used to be a common part of the Fable series). The other part of it is that the series should be growing and developing. Adding new features is a staple for any successful sequel, even if they shed a few unnecessary ones. I may be asking too much for my personal list, but the idea that Fable should grow in regards to features, and that it should preserve deeper gameplay is not something that violates the nature of Fable.

    1. Not long! There was a period in my life when I spent a lot of time looking for a deep rpg for Xbox, after the Skyrim “incident” (lol), and I was hoping Fable would scratch that itch, but I felt quite shortchanged, and it came to me pretty quickly as to why. Thanks for reading!

  2. I love your fable 4 must advance list! A lot of my less “hardcore gamer” friends tell me how much they loved Fable 3… I simply ask them if they have ever played Fable 2. I feel that Fable 2 is up there on my personal Best of All Time list. They “f’d” up most of the things that made Fable so great when they made 3.
    I would like to add that Lionhead must expand on the augment system of 2. Adding upgradeable augments and possibly even player made augments.

    Im going to stop writing now or my comment will be as long as ur article.
    Hopefully Lionhead sees this!

  3. I honestly disagree with the skill trees, I want to play a genuine Fable game, And you may not know this but the statistic of older people playing Fable HAS INCREASE SUPERBLY, It’s scary because my mom is better at Fable then I. Fable needs to be easy and playable by everyone, that’s a True fable game. What I was hoping was for prequel. Dear lord, Fable 1 was amazing because of the other heros. skill trees? Nah I don’t think so, I did like the unique sword and gun, but maybe more of a variation. But then again if it is a prequel they wont be there. As for weapons I want to go back to using steel, Obsidian, Iron Exc.. with more SPECIAL WEAPONS, along with that more Armour and clothing chooses, and dear lord a better story then Fable 3…better graphic didn’t mean a good game. Fable 1 > allllllll day. Overall It needs to be playable by all ages, and yes a skill tree would be awwwwmazing but then again my mom would be calling me into her room every time she levels. Really amazing report you wrote though.

    1. I respect that you have a difference of opinion. When I wrote this I think I was fired up about the areas where Fable III had failed miserably. Basically, I want to see more RPG and less mainstream-actiony crap 🙂 Whether or not it has skill trees really doesn’t matter to me. And I definitely, agree, it should be accessible to people who don’t normally play RPG’s, but there are ways to make things simple (or automated), without losing the depth of a game. Thanks for your comment!

Leave a comment